Regional Presidents

WAHS is proud of the ever expanding body of regional presidents who voluntarily enrich our collaborative teamwork leading to quality research on Hallyu. WAHS regional presidents are responsible for maintaining their local offices, actively involving in research and teaching, and participating in our annual congresses. They are also encouraged to seek research funding opportunities from Korea regarding Hallyu in conjunction with other Hallyu researchers in Korea. Regional presidents are also provided with office space, computer & internet facilities, research networking opportunities, and other assistance during their field trips to Korea.

Want to start a WAHS office in your country?  Contact :

Regional Presidents

China East Mary Jane Ainslie University of Nottingham, Ningbo Campus
China South Jin Wang Sun Yat-Sen University
Hongkong Christine Leong Gurkin Pictures
Singapore Heeyeon Kim National University of Singapore
Indonesia Dery Leksmono Universitas Pelita Harapan
Japan Seong-Bin Hwang Rikkyo University, Tokyo
Philippines Luisa T. Reyes

Sarah Domingo Lipura

University of Santo Tomas

Ateneo de Manila University

Taiwan Sana Ho Soochow University
Thailand Jakkrit Sangkhamanee Chulalongkorn University
North America
Canada Millie Creighton University of British Columbia, Vancouver
USA East Hye-Sook Wang Brown University
USA Midwest Danielle O. Pyun Ohio State University
USA South Haerin Shin Vanderbilt University
USA West Russell Ahn UC Berkeley, CA
USA Pacific Chuyun Oh San Diego State University
Mexico Nayelli Lopez Rocha Universidad Autónoma de Nayarit
South America
Argentina Maria del Valle Guerra

Maria del Pilar Alvarez

Alcala University

Del Salvador University

Brazil South Yun Jung Im Universidade de São Paulo (USP)
Brazil North Ricardo Regatieri Federal University of Bahia
Austria Sang-Yeon Sung University of Vienna
France Paris Frederic Martell IRIS
France South Jane Carda K-POP Life Magazinem
Germany Ute Fendler University of Bayreuth
Spain Xosé Crisanto Gándara Conservatorio de Música de Ferrol
UK London Keith Howard SOAS, University of London
UK Midland Chris Rowley Oxford University
UK North Haekyung Um University of Liverpool
Middle East
Israel Nissim Otmazgin Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Australia Sarah Keith Macquarie University
New Zealand North Margaret Kitchen University of Auckland
New Zealand Central Stephen Epstein Victoria University of Wellington
South Africa Suweon Kim University of the Western Cape